Ryan’s Sketchbook – Arcade

Posted: January 29, 2011 in Sketchbook

Comments
  1. Judy Lacey says:

    I’ve enjoyed all your blogs and sketches, you’ve got a great talent there! I will miss reading your daily blogs. God bless you for all you have done and the sacarfice you and your family have made to do this 30 day journey.

  2. molly says:

    Well, this drawing completley personifies seeing. Really seeing…. like what your heart has done throughout January. I’m thinking all your sketches are an outpouring of sight, Ryan.

  3. Susan Smallwood Herold says:

    Hello Ryan,

    Your parents phoned the other night but I’ve not had a chance to answer them.
    Your father wanted to know what I thought of your more recent sketches.
    My two favorites are THE ARCADE and The Noise Underneath.
    I looked at the dates they were completed and as I suspected they were later in your journey.
    The depth of your understanding of the people you are trying to help comes through in these two drawings. The arcade is so detailed and makes me think of the layers and the complexities of our lives. Everyone has a story to tell and the THE NOISE UNDERNEATH has those layers as well but the added color changes the mood a bit. Darkness giving way to the light. These people you have gotten to know have brought color to your world.
    Not all is hopeless. THE NOISE UNDERNEATH could also represent the noise inside (us). The noise that keeps us from finding and acknowledging the grace that comes to us through so many experiences.
    I am sorry to not have written sooner but I am working on my friend Maralyn’s estate and missing her very much. You mentioned grieving as well – this experience has changed you and has helped you recognize a more complete self. I would imagine you need some emotional down time – a little debriefing. I would say that Beth and those gorgeous boys can help you with that and as Grandpa Tine said, “Get down on your knees and talk it out.”

Leave a Reply

